When the music returns… – #SOL21 Day 13

“The day the music died.” – Don McLean American Pie

Every time that I hear this tune on the classic rock station that I listen to, I think about this past year.  I know that the song was written to remember the day that Buddy Holly, Richie Valens, and “The Big Bopper” tragically died in a plane crash, but with the cancellation of concerts and festivals, I can’t help thinking that for a time (the last 12 months) the music has died.  On my wonderful, exciting, and well-deserved exit of the school building on Friday afternoon, I ran into my friend, Amy, and we talked about how much we missed festivals and concerts and how excited that we are for them to come back.

This conversation led me to spending my twenty-five minute ride home thinking about all of the concerts that I have been to since I was a teenager.  As an adult, I have stopped going to indoor concerts because I don’t love the acoustics of indoor venues, but I will share that this coming year it is likely that I will be back to attending the indoor concerts because I have missed the music so much.  I can’t wait to hear live music and see the crowds around me dancing and singing along.

After I arrived home and got the kids to all of their Friday night events, I went into the basement and found a box of tickets (and other things) that I have kept as memories of concerts that I have attended. The box contains over one hundred concert tickets from the Pointer Sisters and Tone Loc to The Police and the Grateful Dead.  As I perused carefully through all of the tickets, I had forgotten about some of the amazing singers that I have seen live on a stage, like Edie Brickell, Natalie Merchant, The Samples, and Leftover Salmon.  I’ve seen Dave Matthews perform when Big Head Todd and the Monsters were the headliner, and I’ve traveled as far as Red Rocks, Colorado for a week of concerts.  Music and concerts have been a huge part of my life, but I did not even realize this until the shutdown of COVID-19.

Last June, I was supposed to attend a Dave Matthews concert with two of my older children.  This would be our first concert together.  It has been put on hold until this summer (I hope) and I can’t wait because I am hopeful that I can instill in them a love of live music.  There is a culture at a concert and festival that is unique, entertaining, and unforgettable.  I can’t wait for the day that I am standing on a sloped lawn watching a singer belt out a tune to a dancing crowd.  This will be the day when I know that life is back to normal.

5 thoughts on “When the music returns… – #SOL21 Day 13

  1. I have been thinking about concerts a lot lately. They are one of the things I miss most about “normal” life! And DMB concerts are so fun! That was one of my first concerts without parents or “chaperons”! I can still remember hearing Satellite at Tiger Stadium in Detroit. I hope y’all get to experience it sooner rather than later! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. There is nothing like live music. When I am hearing a live band, I am enveloped in the music and energy, surrounded by folks who share that moment…it is indescribable. I cannot wait to hear live music again, and I have just added going to a show with you to my list of things to do, post-covid!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. So touching… the music will be all the more sweeter. I feel like we are all ready to burst, so eager to return to what we have missed so much. Yes, live music, especially summer concerts. Great that you saved all your stubs and that it took the pandemic for you to reflect on just how much music, listening to live music, means to you. Music is at the core of our family life. Enjoy and may the music return safely soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. YES. Such a great connection to McLean’s song. I loved your image of standing on a sloped lawn and the whole post brought me back to my music adventures. Like you there are so many things I took for granted that I cannot wait to return and Dave Matthews is on the top of my list. Thank you for this slice. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment